Whole30 Chicken Chowder

Last week I posted that one of our meals was going to be Chicken Chowder.  Unlike the other recipes, I wasn’t able to find it online and link to it.  I was telling a friend of mine about it and since she wanted the recipe, I figured I’d share it here, too.

I was a bit nervous at first because I wasn’t sure it would be filling enough.  Boy was I wrong!  It is definitely filling and you probably won’t need seconds!  The recipe says it serves two with leftovers, but I would say it serves three.  There was seriously a ton and it was the first time in a long time that I made something that hubs told me he really liked before I asked him how everything was.  Trust me, that’s saying something.

I don’t have any pictures other than the one from the book.  If the other recipes in Whole30 or the Whole 30 program are as good as this, I may have to try it.

Ingredients:
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp paprika
1/8 tsp cayenne
1 lb boneless chicken thighs (I used boneless and skinless)
1 quart chicken or veggie broth
2 medium sweet potatoes, 1 inch cubed
1 head of broccoli cut into 1 inch pieces (save stems)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeno, finely diced (optional)
1 14.5 oz can coconut milk
1 tbsp fresh cilantro, minced (I used dry cilantro and used about 1/2 tbsp)
1 lime juiced
1/2 small red onion, finely chopped

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350.  Mix salt, cumin, paprika, and cayenne in a small bowl.  Season chicken evenly with spice mixture.  Place chicken in pan and bake for 20-30 minutes.  Remove chicken and let rest for 5 min on cutting board.  Cut into 1 inch cubes.

While chicken is cooking, add broth to a medium sized pot.  Bring to a boil and then add sweet potatoes.  Cook until pots are fork tender (about 10 minutes).  Remove sweet potatoes from broth and set aside.

Add broccoli stems, garlic, and jalapeno (if you want) to the broth.  Reduce heat to medium  high and boil for 15 minutes.  Add the broccoli florets and coconut milk.  Continue to boil until the broccoli is very tender, about 5 minutes.  Remove pot from the heat.

Transfer the broth and veggies from the pot to a food processor or blender and blend until smooth.  Place the blended mixture back into the pot and add the cooked chicken, sweet potatoes, and cilantro.  Return the pot to medium heat, stir well, and cook for 2-3 minutes to reheat chicken and sweet potatoes.

Garnish the chowder with lime juice and finely chopped red onion.  Serve immediately.

Even though this picture is from Whole30, mine looked just like this, too.

unnamed-2

 

One thought on “Whole30 Chicken Chowder

Leave a Reply

